Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame names first two in class of 2018

By Earl Seitz
March 12, 2018 - 3:04pm

KAMLOOPS — The Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame has named its first two inductees in the class in 2018.

Olympic shot put bronze medalist Dylan Armstrong and target shooting pioneer George Farquharson.

Amstrongs career began in the hammer throw, where he medaled at the Pan Am Junior and World championships, before turning to the shot put.

His list of international podiums include bronze at the 2008 Olympics.

The late George Farquharson left a great thumbprint in target shooting, creating the F-Class, a category of competition named in his honour.

He passed away in 1995 at the age of 80.

Armstrong and Farquharson will be inducted at the Hall of Fame banquet and Sports Council Awards on April 28.

Two more individuals and a team will be announced in the coming days for the 2018 induction.



South Kam wins B.C. boys basketball championship