Sinclair and Dhaliwal join the Kamloops council table

By Greg Fry
September 30, 2017 - 9:07pm Updated: September 30, 2017 - 11:24pm

KAMLOOPS — Kathy Sinclair and Ray Dhaliwal have been elected city councillors in Saturday's civic by-election in Kamloops.

There were 21 candidates for council and Sinclair, also the executive director of the Kamloops Arts Council, finished first collecting 3,421 votes.

Ray Dhaliwal, the president of the Kamloops Multicultural Society, finished second with 3,292 votes.

Former Liberal MLA Kevin Krueger finished third garnering 3,042 votes. Gerald Watson, a Kamloops school trustee, finished fourth with 2,424 votes and Bill Sarai came in fifth with 2,182.

Former city councillor Nancy Bepple finished 8th with 1,481 votes.


TRU retired prof not surprised by low voter turnout